An Empty Library

My son is looking at high schools. He has visited two of five schools so far, and it strikes me with each visit that what excites him most makes me wary.

After the first: “I could go to Chipotle every single day for lunch!”

And…“everyone carries their phones around everywhere, even into class!”

After the second: “I only saw one device that wasn’t an Apple product!”

And… “no one uses their lockers because there are no textbooks. They’re totally digital!”

And then when I walked into the old library, there wasn’t a single book. The tour guide said, ”When we realized that only three books were checked out one entire year, we turned the library into a resource center.”

Schools with no books. Makes me sad.

3 thoughts on “An Empty Library

  1. Esther LaPorta says:

    These are the words of Rick Bragg, a Pulitzer Prize-winning writer:
    “I hope I will never have a life that is not surrounded by books, by books that are bound in paper and cloth and glue, such perishable things for ideas that have lasted thousands of years….I hope I am always walled in by the very weight and breadth and clumsy, inefficient, antiquated bulk of them….Every book comes alive in my mind. I like to be in that company”.

  2. Schools with no books. This is where we are heading now. Digital is the way to go; and maybe save some trees along the way.

Leave a Reply

