Lucky Underpants

My third grader was struggling to get ready for school this morning, nervous after a meltdown with friends yesterday. With two minutes before departure, I entered his room to find him still wearing pajamas and wrapped in his blue baby blanket. When I entered, he covered his head with a pillow.

“You’re not dressed? We have two minutes!” before I realized we needed a more tender approach if we were going to get out the door.

I grabbed his clothes and tossed him his underwear. “Orange star underwear!” I announced playfully as he caught them.

His mood brightened immediately. “But these aren’t my lucky underpants.”

I didn’t know he had lucky underpants.

“Do you need them today?”

“Can’t. Wore them yesterday. They’re the camouflage ones. I’ve had them since I was four.”

“So you need new underwear.”

“Nope. My lucky underpants are perfect.”

Leave a Reply

