Retiring the Purse

A friend told me that it was time to retire my purse.

It’s a black leather purse. Sundance. Perfect size. Goes with everything. My dad gave it to me a number of Christmases ago. Could be five or fifteen. I lose track of time when it comes to clothes, cars, haircuts…

But she was right. In fact, I had a few bags ready to be put out to pasture. So I brought them to Goodwill along with lots of puzzles, toys and toddler Halloween costumes worn by my now preteens.

As I walked back to the car, I turned to say “thank you” and saw the Goodwill guy hold up my old black purse that I carried until yesterday. Then he tossed it in the trash.

My friend, appalled at me, exclaimed, “You gave it to Goodwill?!”

It was a good purse.

And a reminder that I hold onto things a little too long.

2 thoughts on “Retiring the Purse

  1. LEFTY WRIGHT says:

    Don’t tell your father. It’ll break his heart.

Leave a Reply

