Their Hair

In the mornings before school, the boys and I have our routine that always ends with me dousing their hair with water and brushing it in a way that hides sometimes ridiculous haircuts. Then a quick goodbye to the dog.

During the first week of this school year, however, my husband witnessed this small part of our day.

“Fourth and fifth graders should be brushing their own hair,” he told the kids. Giving them responsibility has been a priority since our visit to his family’s farm early this summer.

While I was imagining the goofy hairdos to be covering their big brains next week, he continued. “When I was in fifth grade, I guarantee you, my mom wasn’t brushing my hair.”

“Okay, farm boy.”

My fifth grader may not be overly independent, but his sense of humor is brilliant.

One thought on “Their Hair

  1. mushroomsup says:

    Hi! I really love your blog, so I’ve nominated you for a whole bunch of awards 🙂 You can check out the details at my post: http://funnyfornothingblog.wordpress.com/2013/09/02/its-the-award-season/

Leave a Reply

