Dinner, Brothers and the Cool of Archeology

Sometimes, dinner conversation at our house is just odd.

“Mom, did you know that the Egyptians used to pull the brains out of a dead person through their nose with a big stick?”

My fourth grader knows how to ruin your appetite. And he does it grinning.

“No,” I responded. “Did you know that when I was in fourth grade, I studied Egypt, and it made me want to be an archeologist?”

“Why did you want to be an archeologist?” he asked.

“I studied the Leakeys, who were great archeologists, and I wanted to be just like them.”

My husband added, “They were the real-life Indiana Jones.”

“Except for the theme song.” My third grader is all about cool. “I’ll bet they didn’t have that.”

Fourth grader: Gross science facts.
Third grader: Cool theme songs.

They make a good team, even if you’d never guess they were brothers.

Leave a Reply

