Why My Son Failed His Math Test

My fourth grade son recently bombed his math test. He does well on homework, so I have been trying to figure out what happened. I emailed the teacher. She was equally surprised by his results. I emailed the Math Coordinator at the school, trying to figure out if I was missing something. Nope.

I think I’ve got it though. Today, when I corrected his Math packet for next week, I discovered a clue…

On the Put on Your Thinking Cap page of the Math packet, the teacher asked the kids to write whether they would use a line, bar or picture graph to show the following, and why. My son’s initial answers were:

1) The number of people at an amusement park who chose different rides?

“I would do a line graph because it makes me feel like I’m in an amusement park.”

2) The number of dogs visiting the veterinary hospital every hour?

“I would do a bar graph because it looks like streets that you and your dog can run on.”

I guess we need to work on, “What kind of test are you taking — math or creative writing?”

4 thoughts on “Why My Son Failed His Math Test

  1. […] years to Jennswondering for inspiring this post and for giving me permission to reference her post Why My Son Failed His Math Test. Check that out if you want. I enjoyed it and wanted to discuss it a […]

  2. Andrew says:

    I really like this post. Is it okay if I mention you and this post in a post on my site?

    http://thegeometryteacher.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

