Great Picture Books for October

I went into our bookshelves to pull out all of our Halloween books and start reading them to my kids again. And frankly…we have a strange number of books about bats. Not only do we have five beautiful picture books that feature friendly, cute bats, but we also have a number of factual books due to a report my nine year old did a few years ago on tent bats living in the Amazon.

So my October-themed books include both Halloween and those strange nocturnal creatures with which my boys seem so enamored:

Too Many Pumpkins by Linda White
The Graves Family by Patricia Polacco
Zen Ghosts by John Muth
We’re Off to Find the Witch’s House by Mr. Kreib and R.W. Alley
Night Song by Ari Berk and Loren Long
Bats at the Library, Bats at the Beach, and Bats at the Ballgame by Brian Lies
Stellaluna by Janell Cannon
The Little Old Lady Who Was Not Afraid of Anything by Linda Williams and Megan Lloyd
Which Witch’s Wand Works by Poly Bernatene

I am always on the lookout for a great picture book about Halloween, though my kids will soon grow out of them. So while they still love to hear me read to them at night, I would love your suggestions.

Leave a Reply

