Two Days in the Life a Fleece

Day One

7:57 a.m.

“It’s going to be cold this morning. Is your fleece in your backpack?” I asked yesterday.

My son pulls everything out of his backpack: his lunchbox, his homework folder, two stuffed Puffles, a water bottle and an apple. No fleece.

“Then find it.”

The clock ticks. The whistle is about to blow in the playground calling all students into class. Luckily, we live only a few blocks from school.

7:59 a.m.

“Found it!” he yells from inside the closet.

He loads everything back into his backpack with the fleece, of course, all the way at the bottom. Very useful.

8:04 a.m.

We arrive at school just as the kids file inside, and after a brief lecture from me about getting organized for school the night before so that I do not have to yell.

3:30 p.m.

I open my son’s lunchbox to discover he ate none of his lunch.

“Honey, you didn’t eat anything!”

“I was too cold.”

“Did you have lunch outside?”

“Yes, and it was cold.”

“Where was your fleece?”

“I don’t know.”

Day Two

7:54 a.m.

I start a few minutes earlier this morning with “Check your backpacks to make sure you have what you need today! And remember, it’s chilly, and you have outdoor assembly this morning!”

A moment later, backpack contents again emptied onto the floor, “I can’t find my fleece!”

“Did you check in the closet?”

He goes to the closet. “It’s not in here!”

“Did you leave it in the car?”

He goes outside to the car to check, “Wow, it’s cold.”

“That’s why you need your fleece,” I grit my teeth.

“Not in the car!”

I open the closet he just looked in and find his fleece on the floor.

8:04 a.m.

We arrive at school just as the kids file inside, and after a brief lecture from me about getting organized for school the night before so that I do not have to yell.

My oldest son glares at me.

“What’s wrong?” I ask him.

“You’re being mean to us.”

8:07 a.m.

I pull into our driveway and open the backdoor to the minivan to let my four year old out.

My son’s fleece is on his car seat.

One thought on “Two Days in the Life a Fleece

  1. oh my gosh!!! This is hilarious!!!

Leave a Reply

