Technology and Kids

I keep reading editorials in the New York Times and other sources of news that bemoan the effect that technology is having on our children. Children are no longer able to converse, don’t look us in the eye, are more violent, cannot relate to each other. I am pretty sure that our parents’ generation read the same types of things about television when we were little.

However, as a parent, I struggle with age appropriateness regarding access to certain technological tools, as well as to the Internet. At what age should they get this? How closely do I monitor that? How do I empower my kids to benefit from the amazing things that technology will do for them without turning them into violent zombies incapable of carrying on a conversation with me, or their future spouse, or teachers or friends.

I put my thoughts down, and they were posted on Yahoo Voices at http://voices.yahoo.com/technology-kids-evolution-conversation-11275158.html.

Leave a Reply

