A Spring Awakening Thanks to Star

Over the winter, our new puppy Star dug up and ate our sprinkler system, interrupted homework at least ten times a night by stealing the kids’ pencils, left hair in every nook and cranny of the house, and demanded to go on long walks on icy streets.

I was not tremendously please with our adoption.

But now it is spring. The dog only drags me down the street when a small, yippy canine taunts her with its high-pitched yap. We’ve even had a few people ask if she’d like to play with their dog. I smile proudly but admit she is not ready for the sandbox.

But that means she is good enough to fool them! She finally appears to be a normal, well-behaved dog…even if she isn’t! What leaps we have made since bringing her home from the Dumb Friends League in December!

In addition to my pride in her and in myself (I did not let go of the leash and watch her, secretly smiling, run away this winter), I realize that I truly enjoy our walks together. We talk (“you crazy dog, don’t eat that!” or “you don’t need that yippy old girl, just walk away”). We work up a thirst together, downing water as soon as we get home. And we literally stop and smell the flowers. Each of us in our own way.

This spring, I have had the opportunity to watch the crocuses bloom, the white flowers appear on the fruit trees, little purple buds planted by a neighbor beneath his aspens. For the first time, I have noticed the interesting doors some of our neighbors have, the brickwork around some of their windows. I am noticing the college students sunbathing and throwing frisbees in the park, nostalgic about peaceful, no-responsibility Sundays before kids, but still eager to play baseball with my boys. I am absorbing spring in a slow, Sunday stroll kind of way.

And I have Star to thank.

3 thoughts on “A Spring Awakening Thanks to Star

  1. 2b14u says:

    Love the story. I have a pit/lab/not sure dog that I found at Wal-Mart of all places. I look forward to reading your posts. Wally’s pic is on lifeonleash.wordpress.com

  2. Anonymous says:

    Of course, as I posted this, she ran out the door, down the street and into the smelly creek.

  3. SandySays1 says:

    It’s great to see you are enjoying life with Star.
    To Star – – – Woof-woof, Arf, woof, arf, ruff-ruff, woof.
    (Human translation) Good job Star…you’re doing a good job training your human!
    Sandy
    http://www.sandysays1.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

