The Talent Show

Our school holds a Talent Show every spring in the Lower School. Most of the students participate in some way. Small groups lip sync to the Black Eyed Peas, Taylor Swift and Justin Bieber, while showing off their cool dance moves. Others perform magic tricks. A few tell jokes. They play much-practiced songs on the piano, recorder, violin and cello. Last year, one child even bounced forever on a pogo stick.

So last night, my third grader sidled up to me and whispered conspiratorially, “I really need to start practicing for the Talent Show.”

It is a month away.

“Have you decided what you are going to do?” I knew he’d been talking with friends about starting a band, and I was excited that he felt part of a group. I was looking forward to hearing about it.

His response though surprised me, as it so often does.

“I am going to speak Navajo.”

Of course he is. He is his own man.

My Navajo.

Leave a Reply

