Can Joining a Parent Group Make Us Better Parents?

I have been thinking a lot lately about how many phone conversations I have with friends wondering if we are making the right decisions for our kids, asking each other how they are handling certain issues, worrying about the next stage in our kids’ lives. I attended a lecture a few weeks ago by a writer and psychologist who basically provides group therapy to parents looking for guidance. While many of us do not need group therapy, I think we do need the encouragement and creative ideas of fellow parents. So I keep wondering if I started a monthly parenting group, would people come? And would they pay a nominal fee to come so that I did not have to hold meetings in my home with three boys and a puppy climbing all over everyone, probably demonstrating on many evenings that I should not be the one in charge of a parenting group?

My thoughts on why such a group would be great for so many parents were published by Yahoo. Please feel free to read them and let me know what you think. Thank you!

http://voices.yahoo.com/parents-seeking-guidance-11021592.html

2 thoughts on “Can Joining a Parent Group Make Us Better Parents?

  1. elizabeth says:

    Will there be wine? 🙂

Leave a Reply

