What Happened to the “Play” in “Play Ball”?

I am not an athlete, but my sisters were. I swam on my college club swim team and played a year of Division III junior varsity lacrosse. I rode the bench through high school and college, too slow to catch anyone when I played defense and too uncoordinated to score when I played offense. But it was fun. I got exercise. I made friends. I felt like I was a part of the school community.

No one ever said you are too slow to be on our swim team, and so I managed to score points for the team and cheer for my teammates who scored more. I swam butterfly and even the 200 I.M. when asked, even though it was really hard. I showed up for every practice, and gave it my all. The lacrosse coaches welcomed me because I cheered loudly and was good at teaching new players how to use a lacrosse stick.

Now, eight year olds are being told they are not good enough to play. “Find another team.” “We’re going more competitive.”

Where’s the fun? Where’s the concept that all kids should have the opportunity to be on a team with their friends, to learn to win and lose with grace, to be a good sportsman?

We don’t tell eight year olds who are having trouble learning to read that they shouldn’t come to school anymore. That they are now banned from reading. No, we spend more time with them, put more energy into improving their skills, and sometimes they even benefit from the better-trained teachers. Many of these students end up academically strong later on…but only because they were “kept in the game”.

Music teachers don’t say an eight year old is not allowed to sing in the Spring Concert because she’s off-pitch. Art teachers do not forbid their more artistically-challenged second grader boys from displaying their work on the wall like everybody else.

Of course not!

So why is it okay in sports?

Maybe it’s the college scholarships, the promise of money. Maybe it’s the fact that for this age group most of the coaches are dads, who are devoting a lot of time to volunteer coaching. And the reason they are doing it is to turn out an athlete of their own.

If the athletic programs were starting in school at this age, teachers would encourage everyone to play. Even our Middle School says that anyone who wants to be on a sports team is on the team. So why do our community leagues allow such exclusivity? Isn’t it supposed to be about building community? Passing our love of the game on to our children?

In many cases, parents whose kids are just playing to have fun and be part of a team don’t have the skills or the schedule to coach. So, in exchange, they come to every game, they help out at practice when they can, they bring snacks, and they cheer for every kid…even the ones who only score once all season. They are grateful for their coach and all that he or she is doing for the team.

We are there to cheer on our eight year olds for trying hard, for having the courage to get back in the game when they’ve fallen, for passing the ball to their friend who never scores just to give them another opportunity. We are there to show our children that we are proud when they give a teammate a high-five for a great play, when they cheer from the bench, even when they offer their water bottle to the kid who always forgets one. We cheer for the eight year old athletes who may one day go to college on a scholarship, and we cheer for the ones who just love to play. We cheer for the fact that they are getting better because they are at every practice and every game. And we jump up and down when they score, because the look for us on the sidelines with a smile filled with such joy and pride it could make you cry.

I have seen my kids grow on the field and court in ways they could not in the classroom or at home. It makes me sad that because I cannot coach, they may not play.

I respect parents who volunteer to coach, because of the commitment and patience it requires. I understand they have their reasons, their goals for their kids, which have to preempt the goals for other children. And because I would be a terrible coach, I have to let them make the rules.  But what happens to sports when the “play” is missing from “play ball”? Will the next generation love sports as much as we do?

5 thoughts on “What Happened to the “Play” in “Play Ball”?

  1. Emd says:

    Amen sister.
    🙂

    • Imagine if every time I volunteered at school, I said I only wanted to do the special craft or lesson with the smart kids? Oh, sorry, I’m thinking your kid won’t be in the top 1% of the class when they are 16, so I don’t want to do the special craft with them. It’s a waste of time for my kid.

      ________________________________

  2. Laura Lamere says:

    Love your thoughts – you would probably like the website: MomsTeam.com!

  3. Sean Breslin says:

    It’s definitely too bad, and I hope the next generation enjoys playing sports as much as I did when I was a kid.

    • I know! My guys just watched all the football games, and the cheering was so fun. I feel bad for my seven year old with the end of football. But look forward to him getting passionate about my favorite — college basketball!

Leave a Reply

